The Buried Giant

The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

Faber & Faber, 2015

Just know one thing, young comrade. When the hour’s too late for rescue, it’s still early enough for revenge. So let me hear your promise again. Promise me you’ll hate the Briton till the day you fall from your wounds or the heaviness of your years.

The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

This was my first Ishiguro book, so I’m not sure if that makes a difference to how I feel about it, but I have been told that the one common theme of his books is that they are all completely different, so I guess not. I found this book… odd. I’m still not sure if I liked it. I didn’t dislike it; in fact I enjoyed it. But I’m not sure I liked it! I’m basically confused! But I definitely want to read more Ishiguro.

The story is set in a post-Arthurian Britain, which I believe is roughly about the 1000 CE mark, when the Britons and Saxons are still trying to co-exist. But while at first it appears to be a historical drama, it soon turns out to be more of a historical fantasy drama, with a dragon, ogres and various other mythical creatures and events.

Axl and Beatrice (clearly not very true-to-the-times names, possibly a deliberate ploy to let you know from the start that this is not historically accurate/true) are an elderly married couple, living in a Briton settlement. They seem to be disliked by the community, or at least are being slowly ostracised from the group, as evidenced when they are not allowed to have a candle in their room, ostensibly for fire hazard reasons.

Axl and Beatrice are very much in love and content with each other. In fact, it really grinded my gears that Axl called her ‘princess’ every. single. time. that he spoke to her. Every time. Without fail. But moving on: they are happy with each other, but there is something odd going on. Everyone seems to forget things pretty soon after they happen. Axl gets episodes when he remembers something, or thinks he does, but no one else can ever seem to recall what he is talking about. There is just a hazy fog where past events should be.

But Beatrice and Axl know they have a son somewhere, and are determined to go find him, despite recalling little of him or where he may be. They set out. The book charts their journey as they meet various friends and foes on the way and uncover the mystery of why it is people are doomed to forget everything.

The question is, are things best left forgotten?

For me, the most powerful aspect of this book was the exploration of whether it is better to forget the past in order to move forward, or whether if we remember and acknowledge the past, does that lead to feuds continuing on in perpetuity? Generation after generation harbouring the same hates, because they can’t forget. [It’s been over two months since I finished reading this, but I don’t think the option of acknowledging the past, learning from it, letting go and moving on (personally, my favourite option) was given air time. I guess it doesn’t lend itself well to dramatic conflict!]

If you have read this, I would love to hear your thoughts below on it!

 

**Spoilers!**

The ending!! A ferryman agrees to take them to an island together, but only if their love is true. Then he says he will have to take Beatrice first and come back for Axl. It seems highly unlikely that he is going to come back for Axl, and the journey certainly seems to be a metaphor for death, which makes sense as Beatrice has been ill for a while. Is that it? Will they ever see each other again?
Maybe with what Axl has recalled of the past, he is glad to let Beatrice go?

What was the significance of the woman skinning rabbits?

The scene with the pixies – it just did not make sense to me. I found it jarring and annoying.

**End spoilers**

 

 

Leave a comment